NFL Comeback Player Of The Year Odds: Hot Dak

Dallas Cowboys Odds Dak Prescott

Dak Prescott remains a hot favorite in the betting odds to seal his return to action in 2021 by being voted the NFL Comeback Player Of The Year but he is starting to face just a little more competition.

The Cowboys quarterback hadn’t played a down since October 2020, when he sustained a grisly compound fracture and dislocated ankle during a win over the New York Giants.

But he has started well in 2021, and threw for 302 yards and three scores in the 44-20 defeat of the Giants on Sunday. That lifted Dallas to 4-1 – that’s four straight wins for the Cowboys now and sole possession of the NFC East lead.

Dallas definitely missed Prescott – before his injury it had probably the most high-powered offense in the league, but afterwards it was miserable and stumbled to a 6-10 finish.

Now #4 is back with a new $160million contract in his pocket, and clearly at full health. He again has an all-star cast of weapons to work with, led by what might be the NFL’s best wide receiver group in Amari Cooper, CeeDee Lamb and Michael Gallup.

The official definition for the CPOY award is a little loose, but that means way more players worth betting on. It is:

“A player who “shows perseverance in overcoming adversity, in the form of not being in the NFL the previous year, a severe injury, or simply poor performance.”

Prescott fits the bill perfectly then, and the odds reflect that. He had been a +180 shot going into the regular season, but that is long gone and -172 is the best you can do (Resorts)

Cincinnati quarterback Joe Burrow is making great strides in his return to the field from a devastating knee injury in 2020 – he came agonizingly close to another win on Sunday, against the great Aaron Rodgers. But he fell just short, losing to Green Bay in OT after a slew of missed field goals by both teams. Joe then spent part of the evening in a local hospital suffering from a throat contusion – ouch.

Jameis Winston comes next at +1400 after leading New Orleans to its third win of 2021, this time vs Washington. Sam Darnold remains +1600 despite Carolina dropping its second straight game, this time to Philadelphia, to fall to 3-2.

Arizona LB Chandler Jones (5 sacks so far but zero since that Week 1 supershow vs Tennessee) is +2000 along with San Francisco DE Nick Bosa. He also has 5 sacks so far.

Chargers safety Derwin James is +2200 despite his team conceding 42 to Cleveland on Sunday.

Latest Comeback Player Of The Year Odds

The latest odds are as follows:

  • -172 Dak Prescott (QB, Dallas Cowboys)
  • +800 Joe Burrow (QB, Cincinnati Bengals)
  • +1400 Jameis Winston (QB, New Orleans Saints)
  • +1600 Sam Darnold (QB, Carolina Panthers)
  • +2000 Chandler Jones (DE, Arizona Cardinals)
  • +2000 Nick Bosa (DE, San Francisco 49ers)
  • +2200 Derwin James (S, Los Angeles Chargers)

NB: Odds correct on October 11, 2021

Who won NFL Comeback Player Of The Year?

If you’re betting on this kind of stuff, always a great idea to look at the previous winners – and what they went through. The last 10 winners of the award were:

  • 2020 Alex Smith (QB, Washington Football Team)
  • 2019 Ryan Tannehill (QB, Tennessee Titans)
  • 2018 Andrew Luck (QB, Indianapolis Colts)
  • 2017 Keenan Allen (WR, Los Angeles Chargers)
  • 2016 Jordy Nelson (WR, Green Bay Packers)
  • 2015 Eric Berry (S, Kansas City Chiefs)
  • 2014 Rob Gronkowski (TE, New England Patriots)
  • 2013 Philip Rivers (QB, Los Angeles Chargers)
  • 2012 Peyton Manning (QB, Denver Broncos)
  • 2011 Matthew Stafford (QB, Detroit Lions)

So again with most awards in this league, a bias towards QBs with six of the last 10 including the last three.

Who chooses NFL Comeback Player Of The Year?

Backed by Associated Press (AP), votes for CPOY come from a nationwide poll of accredited media.

When is NFL CPOY announced?

The award is now part of the NFL’s big Honors ceremony, which takes place annually the day before the Super Bowl.

The 2021 award will be presented on Saturday February 12, 2022. That’s the day before Super Bowl LVI takes place at SoFi Stadium in Inglewood, California.