NFL OPOY Odds: Kupp and Taylor head line at +800

Cooper Kupp Los Angeles Rams NFL 2021

The battle for NFL Offensive Player Of The Year (OPOY) will be a terrific betting line in 2022 and we have the early odds and intel for you.

We are deep into free agency with the NFL Draft to look forward to. The countdown to the 2022 season is an all-you-can-eat buffet of pigskin storylines.

Here is all you need to know right now about betting for Offensive Player Of The Year.

Latest OPOY Odds in 2022

Cooper Kupp had one of the greatest years ever for an NFL WR in 2021 – a Super Bowl ring, incredible numbers and an OPOY award. No surprise then that he is favorite to repeat at +800 (bet $100 to win $800).

Also on +800 is Indianapolis RB Jonathan Taylor, who had a terrific 2021 until the Colts imploded by losing their last two games to miss out on a playoff berth. The trade for QB Matt Ryan should mean even more room for Taylor to run in 2022.

Derrick Henry won this award in 2020 and he should be back to full health in 2022 after a foot injury wrecked his last season when he was again heading for sensational numbers. Henry is third best in the betting at +900.

Las Vegas Raiders new boy Davante Adams is +1200 after his blockbusting trade from Green Bay, while Carolina RB Christian McCaffrey comes next on +1400. There have to health concerns about Run CMC though…

Deebo Samuel could be an interesting bet at +1600 – he was incredible last year and has unique ability both as a pass catcher and operating in the backfield as a halfback.

Baltimore’s Lamar Jackson is the first QB in the betting at +1700 while running backs Nick Chubb (Cleveland Browns) and Dalvin Cook (Minnesota Vikings) are both on +2000.

Then we have a run on big-name QBs with Kyler Murray (Arizona), Josh Allen (Buffalo) and Patrick Mahomes (Kansas City) all currently at +2200. Then Aaron Rodgers of Green Bay is a +2500 shot.

Another interesting name to consider is Kansas City TE Travis Kelce at +2800. It will be fascinating to see how the loss of Tyreek Hill in that trade to Miami affects Kelce’s production. We expect a new-look Chiefs offense – how exactly does Kelce fit and does it affect his targets?

Two things to not though if you do like Samuel or Kelce – the stats do not look good for either. Only four times has a wide receiver won the award, while a tight end – as yet – has never done so.

Here are the latest OPOY odds from PointsBet:

Cooper KuppWRLos Angeles Rams+800
Jonathan TaylorRBIndianapolis Colts+800
Derrick HenryRBTennessee Titans+900
Davante AdamsWRLas Vegas Raiders+1200
Christian McCaffreyRBCarolina Panthers+1400
Deebo SamuelWRSan Francisco 49ers+1600
Lamar JacksonQBBaltimore Ravens+1700
Nick Chubb RBCleveland Browns+2000
Dalvin CookRBMinnesota Vikings+2000
Kyler MurrayQBArizona Cardinals+2200
Josh AllenQBBuffalo Bills+2200
Patrick MahomesQBKansas City Chiefs+2200
Aaron RodgersQBGreen Bay Packers+2500
Travis KelceTEKansas City Chiefs+2800

NB: Odds correct on April 17, 2022

Who won OPOY?

Two players hold the record for the most OPOY titles – RBs Earl Campbell and Marshall Faulk. Both men have three awards – and each of them won their three in consecutive years. Two-time winners include Peyton Manning, Drew Brees, Tom Brady, Barry Sanders, Jerry Rice and Terrell Davis.

The last 10 winners of the award are as follows:

  • 2021: Cooper Kupp (WR, Los Angeles Rams)
  • 2020: Derrick Henry (RB, Tennessee Titans)
  • 2019: Michael Thomas (WR, New Orleans Saints)
  • 2018: Patrick Mahomes (QB, Kansas City Chiefs)
  • 2017: Todd Gurley (RB, Los Angeles Rams)
  • 2016: Matt Ryan (QB, Atlanta Falcons)
  • 2015: Cam Newton (QB, Carolina Panthers)
  • 2014: DeMarco Murray (RB, Dallas Cowboys)
  • 2013: Peyton Manning (QB, Denver Broncos)
  • 2012: Adrian Peterson (RB, Minnesota Vikings)
Why are QBs big odds to win OPOY?

Because the stats tell you their chances are much lower than for MVP. A quarterback has won OPOY 20 times but RB has taken the honors on 26 occasions. In short this award is much fairer to positions outside of QB while MVP has become totally fixated on the most important position in the game. QBs have won MVP in 17 of the last 20 seasons while it’s only 9 of the last 20 for OPOY. Less than 50% success rate.

How does OPOY work?

The crucial bit here is that postseason play is NOT included. This is all about regular-season achievements.

Who votes for OPOY?

A panel of 50 sportswriters who all post their votes after the regular season finishes. The award is fronted by AP (Associated Press) so it is the de facto most recognized award of its type. Kupp gained 32 of the votes in 2021 – winning by a landslide.

When is OPOY announced?

It is announced the Thursday of Super Bowl week each year in the NFL’s annual glitzy awards ceremony. This will take place in February 2023 in Glendale, Arizona ahead of Super Bowl LVII.

Who is winning OPOY?

Cooper Kupp and Jonathan Taylor are the early favorites at +800 (bet $100 to win $800). We’ll have expert and free picks closer to the start of the 2022 season.

Can you be MVP and OPOY in the same year?

Yes absolutely you can. So far it’s happened 28 of 49 years. But a word of warning – it happens much less nowadays. The last time was Kansas City QB Patrick Mahomes in 2018. If you are betting this to happen in 2022, then your best bet is to pick a QB…