NFL DPOY Odds: Micah misery and a NEW favorite

The battle for NFL Defensive Player Of The Year (DPOY) looked pretty much over a couple of weeks ago if you believed the Futures odds…well not any more.

Dallas Cowboys superstar LB Micah Parsons – who had been Defensive Rookie of the Year in 2021 – was -1000 odds to win DPOY going into Week 13. Fast forward a little while and he is no longer even the favorite…

Parsons lost his position at the head of the Futures line on Sunday when his Cowboys suffered a stunning 40-34 overtime loss to the Jaguars in Jacksonville.

That came three days after San Francisco 49ers DE Nick Bosa had advertised his credentials in a terrific 21-13 win over the Seahawks in Seattle. He grabbed yet another sack to top off a dominant performance and he now leads the league with 15.5. He is also your new DPOY favorite at -114. Then comes Parsons on +110.

Get 5 x $100 Free Bets!

New customers only, participating states – 21+

If any of your first 5 cash Fixed Odds bets (first bet per day for 5 consecutive days) loses, you get Free Bet(s) in the amount of the losing wager(s), up to $100.

Latest DPOY Odds in 2022

Here is the latest DPOY betting line:

Nick BosaDESan Francisco 49ers-114
Micah ParsonsLBDallas Cowboys+110
Maxx Crosby DELas Vegas Raiders+5000
Chris JonesDTKansas City Chiefs+6600
Myles GarrettDECleveland Browns+7500

NB: Odds correct on December 20, 2022

Who won DPOY?

Three players hold the record for the most DPOY titles – the alltime great Lawrence Taylor and two current NFL stars – Arizona Cardinal J.J. Watt and the aforementioned Mr Donald. The award was first handed out back in 1971.

The last 10 winners of the award are as follows:

  • 2021: T.J. Watt (OLB, Pittsburgh Steelers)
  • 2020: Aaron Donald (DT, Los Angeles Rams)
  • 2019: Stephon Gilmore (CB, New England Patriots)
  • 2018: Aaron Donald (DT, Los Angeles Rams)
  • 2017: Aaron Donald (DT, Los Angeles Rams)
  • 2016: Khalil Mack (OLB, Oakland Raiders)
  • 2015: J.J. Watt (DE, Houston Texans)
  • 2014: J.J. Watt (DE, Houston Texans)
  • 2013: Luke Kuechly (LB, Carolina Panthers)
  • 2012: J.J. Watt (DE, Houston Texans)

Who chooses NFL DPOY?

Like the other major NFL awards such as MVP, the award is chosen under the banner of the Associated Press – that doyen of impartiality. A panel of 50 AP sportswriters make the call.

Does DPOY include the playoffs?

No, the award is chosen based on regular season play only. Postseason play does not count.

When will DPOY be announced?

DPOY is announced during the NFL’s glittering annual awards ceremony. The 2022 version will be held on Thursday February 9 in Glendale, Arizona. Just three days out from Super Bowl LVII.