NFL Coach Of The Year Odds: King Kliff?

Kliff Kingsbury Arizona Cardinals Head Coach Odds 2021

The 2021 NFL season is well under way, and the odds to be NFL Coach Of The Year, presented by the Associated Press, might offer the most wide open race of all.

There are only 32 of these jobs as somebody once famously said, and they all start 0-0 every year with the dream being a spot in Super Bowl LVI at SoFi Stadium in Inglewood next February.

The NFL betting line for this market had Chargers HC Brandon Staley as favorite right back as far as preseason – and he remained at the head of the line until Week 9. But now we have new a favorite seemingly every week.

After the Week 11 action Kliff Kingsbury heads the line again at +400 (bet $100 to win $400) after his Arizona Cardinals – still without Kyler Murray – returned to winning ways with a 23-13 victory in Seattle.

That was enough to put Kliff back on top, as previous favorite Mike Vrabel fell when his streaking Tennessee team suffered a shocking 22-13 loss to the woeful Houston Texans.

The aforementioned Staley is third best in the betting after his Chargers outlasted Pittsburgh 41-37 in a wild game on Sunday Night Football.

Mike McCarthy is next at +1400 – his odds stay the same despite Dallas dropping an L by a 19-9 scoreline in Kansas City. Then we have Cincy’s Zac Taylor on +1600 after his Bengals won in Las Vegas. After that it is Matt LaFleur on +1800 after Green dropped a close one to NFC North rival Minnesota.

Bill Belichick meanwhile is STILL available at +3000 after New England made it four straight wins by shutting out Atlanta on Thursday Night Football. Some sportsbooks are out there taking risks people…

Latest odds to be NFL Coach Of The Year

The latest odds to be NFL Coach Of The Year in 2021 are as follows (relevant sportsbook in brackets):

  • +400 Kliff Kingsbury (Arizona Cardinals) with DraftKings, FanDuel
  • +600 Mike Vrabel (Tennessee Titans) with DraftKings, FanDuel
  • +1200 Brandon Staley (Los Angeles Chargers) with FanDuel
  • +1400 Mike McCarthy (Dallas Cowboys) with DraftKings, Caesars
  • +1600 Zac Taylor (Cincinnati Bengals) with DraftKings, FanDuel
  • +1800 Matt LaFleur (Green Bay Packers) widely available
  • +2000 Sean McVay (Los Angeles Rams) widely available
  • +2500 Sean McDermott (Buffalo Bills) widely available
  • +3000 Bill Belichick (New England Patriots) with Caesars

NB: Odds correct at 0900 ET on November 23, 2021

Who won NFL Coach Of The Year?

It pays to look at who won the award in recent years – it can give vital clues to key trends and patterns. The last 10 winners of NFL Coach Of The Year were:

  • 2020: Kevin Stefanski (Cleveland Browns)
  • 2019: John Harbaugh (Baltimore Ravens)
  • 2018: Matt Nagy (Chicago Bears)
  • 2017: Sean McVay (Los Angeles Rams)
  • 2016: Jason Garrett (Dallas Cowboys)
  • 2015: Ron Rivera (Carolina Panthers)
  • 2014: Bruce Arians (Arizona Cardinals)
  • 2013: Ron Rivera (Carolina Panthers)
  • 2012: Bruce Arians (Indianapolis Colts)
  • 2011: Jim Harbaugh (San Francisco 49ers)

When is NFL Coach Of The Year decided?

One important thing you show know here – the post-season is irrelevant in voting for Coach Of The Year. It is based only on regular-season play.

You’ll also note that none of the last 10 winners of the award have gone on to win the Super Bowl that year. You have to go back to Belichick in 2003 for the last time that happened.

When is the NFL Coach Of The Year announced?

The Coach Of The Year is announced at the annual NFL Honors ceremony, which takes place the day before the Super Bowl.

The 2021 winner will be announced on Saturday February 12, 2022 – just before Super Bowl LVI takes place a day later at SoFi.